Massachusetts Quarantine Regulations
The State of Massachusetts requires that all dogs entering the state must be quarantined for a minimum 48 hours per Animal Health Emergency Order, 1-AHO-05. This is required for all dogs entering the state, regardless of their previous quarantining elsewhere; health; age; vetting status; etc.
THIS MA STATE LAW MEANS THAT THEIR RESIDENTS WILL NOT BE ABLE TO TAKE A DOG HOME ON EVENT DAY EVEN IF THEY ARE APPROVED ADOPTERS
Most of the attending rescues and shelters are licensed to adopt to MA residents but not all. Be sure to check before falling in love! They use several different facilities to meet this quarantine requirement. Which facility is used and the timing of the quarantine period will be determined by facility availability and other factors, once the adoption is finalized. Please note that quarantine space may not be immediately available for your dog and this space can only be secured once the adoption is finalized.
After the adoption is finalized, the rescue will make arrangements for the quarantine requirement to be met, and will provide you with the details. You will be responsible for picking the dog up from the isolation facility/vet after it is approved for release. The dog will not be released to you until it passes an extra vet check.
Should you not be able to pick up your dog directly following the vet check, you may be responsible for additional boarding expenses.
In addition to the rescue’s/shelter’s adoption donation for your dog, an additional quarantine fee is required for all dogs adopted to Massachusetts residents ($120 as of 1/1/2016, but subject to change).
The MA quarantine fee is paid to cover the mandatory isolation period required by the State of Massachusetts for any imported dog. Please note: quarantine fees are NOT refundable.